- Commission
- Up to 30% on eligible Automattic/WooCommerce referrals; current program materials distinguish first-time and returning…
- Attribution
- 30 days
- Model
- Sale
WordPress, ecommerce, developer, agency and website-building audiences comparing store platforms and extensions.
First-party source checked · September 8, 2026Ecommerce educators, business publishers, agencies, creators and entrepreneurial audiences teaching people how to start or grow stores.
First-party source checked · September 8, 2026Open the current program pages side by side.
Use the comparison to narrow the choice, then confirm the current qualifying event, attribution and promotion rules on each program before publishing a recommendation.
WordPress, ecommerce, developer, agency and website-building audiences comparing store platforms and extensions.
Visit WooCommerceEcommerce educators, business publishers, agencies, creators and entrepreneurial audiences teaching people how to start or grow stores.
Visit ShopifySome outbound links may be affiliate links. If you sign up or purchase through one, this site may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Where the two offers actually diverge.
Only material fields that differ are shown here. Equal fields are left out so the page is easier to scan.
Up to 30% on eligible Automattic/WooCommerce referrals; current program materials distinguish first-time and returning purchases
Location-dependent payout on eligible full-price Basic, Grow and Advanced plan referrals; current public page advertises up to $150 per qualified referral
30 days
30-day click attribution; referral can remain eligible to convert from free trial to full-price plan within the published 125-day referral window
Not publicly stated in the reviewed source
One commission on an eligible full-price Basic, Grow or Advanced store-plan referral; not a recurring renewal commission.
Apply to the Automattic affiliate program; account review applies
Free application; Shopify says quality and relevance are reviewed and not every application is approved
Not publicly stated in the reviewed source
Follow the current Impact contract and Shopify trademark/brand guidelines before using paid search; do not infer unrestricted branded bidding from general affiliate approval.
Not publicly stated in the reviewed source
Payout is merchant-location dependent: the current standard table pays $150 for the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, Japan, the United Kingdom, listed European markets and the Middle East, and $25 for Africa, India, Latin America, the rest of Asia and other countries.
Eligible products and returning-customer rates can differ
Payout depends on the referred merchant’s location
Side-by-side research table.
“Not published” means the reviewed first-party source did not expose that field clearly enough to state it as fact.
| Factor | WooCommerce | Shopify |
|---|---|---|
| Current status | Active | Active |
| Category | Ecommerce Tools | Ecommerce Platforms |
| Commercial model | Sale | Sale |
| Commission | Up to 30% on eligible Automattic/WooCommerce referrals; current program materials distinguish first-time and returning purchases | Location-dependent payout on eligible full-price Basic, Grow and Advanced plan referrals; current public page advertises up to $150 per qualified referral |
| Attribution | 30 days | 30-day click attribution; referral can remain eligible to convert from free trial to full-price plan within the published 125-day referral window |
| Recurring duration | Not published in the reviewed source | One commission on an eligible full-price Basic, Grow or Advanced store-plan referral; not a recurring renewal commission. |
| Payout timing | Not published in the reviewed source | Shopify reports eligible actions through Impact. The previous month’s actions lock on the 21st and are paid to the Impact balance the following day; Impact then handles bank/PayPal withdrawal scheduling. |
| Minimum payout | Not published in the reviewed source | $10 USD or approximate local-currency equivalent in Impact before withdrawal. |
| Paid search / PPC | Not published in the reviewed source | Follow the current Impact contract and Shopify trademark/brand guidelines before using paid search; do not infer unrestricted branded bidding from general affiliate approval. |
| Geography | Not published in the reviewed source | Payout is merchant-location dependent: the current standard table pays $150 for the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, Japan, the United Kingdom, listed European markets and the Middle East, and $25 for Africa, India, Latin America, the rest of Asia and other countries. |
| Approval | Apply to the Automattic affiliate program; account review applies | Free application; Shopify says quality and relevance are reviewed and not every application is approved |
| Approval difficulty | Not published in the reviewed source | Selective — Shopify reviews audience quality, original content, channel activity and ecommerce relevance; not every application is approved. |
| Source reviewed | 2026-09-08 | 2026-09-08 |
| Best fit | WordPress, ecommerce, developer, agency and website-building audiences comparing store platforms and extensions. | Ecommerce educators, business publishers, agencies, creators and entrepreneurial audiences teaching people how to start or grow stores. |
Strengths and checks
Reasons to consider it
- WooCommerce fits a large existing WordPress audience
- Current Automattic program supports multiple related brands under one application
- 30-day conversion window is published
Verify first
- Eligible products and returning-customer rates can differ
- Do not imply every WooCommerce Marketplace transaction pays the same percentage
- Use the live Automattic program terms for exclusions
Strengths and checks
Reasons to consider it
- Current public page advertises up to $150 per qualified referral
- Affiliate program is free to join
- Shopify documents a 30-day click window and a broader 125-day trial-to-full-price referral window
Verify first
- Payout depends on the referred merchant’s location
- Plus, Enterprise and Retail referrals are not eligible under the current standard affiliate payout table
- Acceptance is not guaranteed and trademark bidding is restricted
Open a nearby alternative.
These suggestions come from category, audience and existing comparison relationships—not an opaque ranking.
Ecwid
Ecommerce, small-business and website publishers recommending hosted store functionality.
Compare with ShopifySellfy
Creator-commerce, digital-product and ecommerce publishers.
Compare with ShopifySquarespace
Website-builder, design, creator-business and small-business audiences comparing hosted website platforms.
Compare with ShopifyGelato
Print-on-demand tutorials, ecommerce education, creator-business content and design audiences launching custom products.
Open profile