Home / Comparisons / Shopify vs Squarespace
Affiliate program comparison

Shopify vs Squarespace

Compare Shopify vs Squarespace by commission, attribution, approval, audience fit, restrictions and current first-party source evidence.

Ecommerce PlatformsShopify
Commission
Location-dependent payout on eligible full-price Basic, Grow and Advanced plan referrals; current public page…
Attribution
30-day click attribution; referral can remain eligible to convert…
Model
Sale
VS
Website BuildersSquarespace
Commission
Payout for qualifying first-time website or commerce subscriptions; exact affiliate payout is disclosed after…
Attribution
Verify current Impact offer terms
Model
Sale
Choose Shopify when

Ecommerce educators, business publishers, agencies, creators and entrepreneurial audiences teaching people how to start or grow stores.

First-party source checked · September 8, 2026
Choose Squarespace when

Website-builder, design, creator-business and small-business audiences comparing hosted website platforms.

First-party source checked · September 8, 2026
Verify before you choose

Open the current program pages side by side.

Use the comparison to narrow the choice, then confirm the current qualifying event, attribution and promotion rules on each program before publishing a recommendation.

Shopify

Ecommerce educators, business publishers, agencies, creators and entrepreneurial audiences teaching people how to start or grow stores.

Visit Shopify
Squarespace

Website-builder, design, creator-business and small-business audiences comparing hosted website platforms.

Visit Squarespace

Some outbound links may be affiliate links. If you sign up or purchase through one, this site may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Decision differences

Where the two offers actually diverge.

Only material fields that differ are shown here. Equal fields are left out so the page is easier to scan.

Commission
Shopify

Location-dependent payout on eligible full-price Basic, Grow and Advanced plan referrals; current public page advertises up to $150 per qualified referral

Squarespace

Payout for qualifying first-time website or commerce subscriptions; exact affiliate payout is disclosed after application

Attribution
Shopify

30-day click attribution; referral can remain eligible to convert from free trial to full-price plan within the published 125-day referral window

Squarespace

Verify current Impact offer terms

Recurring duration
Shopify

One commission on an eligible full-price Basic, Grow or Advanced store-plan referral; not a recurring renewal commission.

Squarespace

Not publicly stated in the reviewed source

Approval
Shopify

Free application; Shopify says quality and relevance are reviewed and not every application is approved

Squarespace

Affiliate application and approval through the current program

Paid search / PPC
Shopify

Follow the current Impact contract and Shopify trademark/brand guidelines before using paid search; do not infer unrestricted branded bidding from general affiliate approval.

Squarespace

Not publicly stated in the reviewed source

Geography
Shopify

Payout is merchant-location dependent: the current standard table pays $150 for the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, Japan, the United Kingdom, listed European markets and the Middle East, and $25 for Africa, India, Latin America, the rest of Asia and other countries.

Squarespace

Not publicly stated in the reviewed source

Think twice about Shopify when

Payout depends on the referred merchant’s location

Think twice about Squarespace when

One universal public commission amount is not shown before application

Full terms

Side-by-side research table.

“Not published” means the reviewed first-party source did not expose that field clearly enough to state it as fact.

FactorShopifySquarespace
Current statusActiveActive
CategoryEcommerce PlatformsWebsite Builders
Commercial modelSaleSale
CommissionLocation-dependent payout on eligible full-price Basic, Grow and Advanced plan referrals; current public page advertises up to $150 per qualified referralPayout for qualifying first-time website or commerce subscriptions; exact affiliate payout is disclosed after application
Attribution30-day click attribution; referral can remain eligible to convert from free trial to full-price plan within the published 125-day referral windowVerify current Impact offer terms
Recurring durationOne commission on an eligible full-price Basic, Grow or Advanced store-plan referral; not a recurring renewal commission.Not published in the reviewed source
Payout timingShopify reports eligible actions through Impact. The previous month’s actions lock on the 21st and are paid to the Impact balance the following day; Impact then handles bank/PayPal withdrawal scheduling.Not published in the reviewed source
Minimum payout$10 USD or approximate local-currency equivalent in Impact before withdrawal.Not published in the reviewed source
Paid search / PPCFollow the current Impact contract and Shopify trademark/brand guidelines before using paid search; do not infer unrestricted branded bidding from general affiliate approval.Not published in the reviewed source
GeographyPayout is merchant-location dependent: the current standard table pays $150 for the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, Japan, the United Kingdom, listed European markets and the Middle East, and $25 for Africa, India, Latin America, the rest of Asia and other countries.Not published in the reviewed source
ApprovalFree application; Shopify says quality and relevance are reviewed and not every application is approvedAffiliate application and approval through the current program
Approval difficultySelective — Shopify reviews audience quality, original content, channel activity and ecommerce relevance; not every application is approved.Not published in the reviewed source
Source reviewed2026-09-082026-09-08
Best fitEcommerce educators, business publishers, agencies, creators and entrepreneurial audiences teaching people how to start or grow stores.Website-builder, design, creator-business and small-business audiences comparing hosted website platforms.
Shopify

Strengths and checks

Reasons to consider it

  • Current public page advertises up to $150 per qualified referral
  • Affiliate program is free to join
  • Shopify documents a 30-day click window and a broader 125-day trial-to-full-price referral window

Verify first

  • Payout depends on the referred merchant’s location
  • Plus, Enterprise and Retail referrals are not eligible under the current standard affiliate payout table
  • Acceptance is not guaranteed and trademark bidding is restricted
Read the Shopify profile
Squarespace

Strengths and checks

Reasons to consider it

  • Current public affiliate page is live
  • Pays on qualifying website or commerce subscriptions from first-time customers
  • Uses tracking links and affiliate support resources

Verify first

  • One universal public commission amount is not shown before application
  • Do not confuse the general affiliate program with Squarespace Circle referral payments
  • Cookie/attribution should be confirmed in the live Impact offer
Read the Squarespace profile
If neither fits

Open a nearby alternative.

These suggestions come from category, audience and existing comparison relationships—not an opaque ranking.

Overlaps both audiences

Wix

Website-building, small-business, ecommerce and creator audiences researching an all-in-one hosted site platform.

Compare with Shopify
Overlaps both audiences

Webflow

Web-design educators, no-code publishers, creators and bloggers who influence new self-serve Webflow customers rather than client-service referrals.

Compare with Squarespace
Overlaps both audiences

Framer

Web designers, template creators, no-code educators and creator audiences that actively teach or distribute Framer work.

Compare with Squarespace
Overlaps both audiences

Ecwid

Ecommerce, small-business and website publishers recommending hosted store functionality.

Compare with Shopify