Home / Comparisons / FreshBooks vs Patriot Software
Affiliate program comparison

FreshBooks vs Patriot Software

Compare FreshBooks vs Patriot Software by commission, attribution, approval, audience fit, restrictions and current first-party source evidence.

Freelance & Business ServicesFreshBooks
Commission
Paid for qualifying trial signups and paid-plan upgrades; up to $200 per paid subscriber
Attribution
Current public page does not state a universal attribution…
Model
Lead / trial
VS
Freelance & Business ServicesPatriot Software
Commission
$150 per qualifying new customer under the public affiliate program
Attribution
Verify current Impact attribution terms
Model
Sale
Choose FreshBooks when

Freelancer, small-business, invoicing and accounting-software content where readers are actively selecting a finance workflow tool.

First-party source checked · September 7, 2026
Choose Patriot Software when

US small-business, payroll, accounting and freelancer publishers with audiences actively selecting bookkeeping or payroll software.

First-party source checked · September 7, 2026
Verify before you choose

Open the current program pages side by side.

Use the comparison to narrow the choice, then confirm the current qualifying event, attribution and promotion rules on each program before publishing a recommendation.

FreshBooks

Freelancer, small-business, invoicing and accounting-software content where readers are actively selecting a finance workflow tool.

Visit FreshBooks
Patriot Software

US small-business, payroll, accounting and freelancer publishers with audiences actively selecting bookkeeping or payroll software.

Visit Patriot Software

Some outbound links may be affiliate links. If you sign up or purchase through one, this site may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Decision differences

Where the two offers actually diverge.

Only material fields that differ are shown here. Equal fields are left out so the page is easier to scan.

Commercial model
FreshBooks

trial-and-sale

Patriot Software

new-customer-sale

Commission
FreshBooks

Paid for qualifying trial signups and paid-plan upgrades; up to $200 per paid subscriber

Patriot Software

$150 per qualifying new customer under the public affiliate program

Attribution
FreshBooks

Current public page does not state a universal attribution duration; verify in PartnerStack

Patriot Software

Verify current Impact attribution terms

Approval
FreshBooks

Affiliate application through PartnerStack

Patriot Software

Impact application and review; current program targets audiences of US-based business owners

Think twice about FreshBooks when

The “up to” amount is not a guaranteed payout on every referral

Think twice about Patriot Software when

The affiliate program is aimed at audiences of US-based business owners

Full terms

Side-by-side research table.

“Not published” means the reviewed first-party source did not expose that field clearly enough to state it as fact.

FactorFreshBooksPatriot Software
Current statusActiveActive
CategoryFreelance & Business ServicesFreelance & Business Services
Commercial modelLead / trialSale
CommissionPaid for qualifying trial signups and paid-plan upgrades; up to $200 per paid subscriber$150 per qualifying new customer under the public affiliate program
AttributionCurrent public page does not state a universal attribution duration; verify in PartnerStackVerify current Impact attribution terms
ApprovalAffiliate application through PartnerStackImpact application and review; current program targets audiences of US-based business owners
Source reviewed2026-09-072026-09-07
Best fitFreelancer, small-business, invoicing and accounting-software content where readers are actively selecting a finance workflow tool.US small-business, payroll, accounting and freelancer publishers with audiences actively selecting bookkeeping or payroll software.
FreshBooks

Strengths and checks

Reasons to consider it

  • Current page advertises up to $200 per paid subscriber
  • Trial signup and paid-plan upgrade events are both described
  • PartnerStack provides the tracking and program dashboard

Verify first

  • The “up to” amount is not a guaranteed payout on every referral
  • Do not reuse old ShareASale cookie or payout figures as current PartnerStack terms
  • Accounting guidance and affiliate economics should remain separate
Read the FreshBooks profile
Patriot Software

Strengths and checks

Reasons to consider it

  • $150 per new customer is explicitly published
  • Impact application route is current
  • Accounting and payroll products give the program clear SMB purchase intent

Verify first

  • The affiliate program is aimed at audiences of US-based business owners
  • Do not confuse the open affiliate program with Patriot’s separate customer-referral and accountant-partner rewards
  • Cookie duration should be verified in Impact before being quoted
Read the Patriot Software profile
If neither fits

Open a nearby alternative.

These suggestions come from category, audience and existing comparison relationships—not an opaque ranking.

Same-category alternative

Bonsai

Freelancers, agencies and small-business publishers comparing client-management, project-management and billing software.

Open profile
Same-category alternative

Deel

Remote-work, global hiring, HR operations, international payroll and founder/business audiences with genuine B2B purchase intent.

Open profile
Same-category alternative

Upwork

Freelancing, hiring, outsourcing, remote-business and agency content where readers are looking to hire independent talent.

Open profile
Same-category alternative

Fiverr

Freelancing, startup, small-business, outsourcing, design and creator-workflow publishers.

Open profile