Home / Comparisons / Fiverr vs Upwork
Affiliate program comparison

Fiverr vs Upwork

Compare Fiverr vs Upwork by commission, attribution, approval, audience fit, restrictions and current first-party source evidence.

Freelance & Business ServicesFiverr
Commission
Marketplace: 25% of the first-time buyer order amount (CPA capped at $500) plus 10%…
Attribution
30 days
Model
Recurring
VS
Freelance & Business ServicesUpwork
Commission
70% of the first contract spend, capped at $150 commission per new referred client…
Attribution
Verify current Impact attribution terms
Model
Sale
Choose Fiverr when

Freelancing, startup, small-business, outsourcing, design and creator-workflow publishers.

First-party source checked · September 8, 2026
Choose Upwork when

Freelancing, hiring, outsourcing, remote-business and agency content where readers are looking to hire independent talent.

First-party source checked · September 7, 2026
Verify before you choose

Open the current program pages side by side.

Use the comparison to narrow the choice, then confirm the current qualifying event, attribution and promotion rules on each program before publishing a recommendation.

Fiverr

Freelancing, startup, small-business, outsourcing, design and creator-workflow publishers.

Visit Fiverr
Upwork

Freelancing, hiring, outsourcing, remote-business and agency content where readers are looking to hire independent talent.

Visit Upwork

Some outbound links may be affiliate links. If you sign up or purchase through one, this site may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Decision differences

Where the two offers actually diverge.

Only material fields that differ are shown here. Equal fields are left out so the page is easier to scan.

Commercial model
Fiverr

hybrid-sale-revshare

Upwork

new-client-sale

Commission
Fiverr

Marketplace: 25% of the first-time buyer order amount (CPA capped at $500) plus 10% revenue share on later qualifying orders for 12 months; other Fiverr products can use separate structures.

Upwork

70% of the first contract spend, capped at $150 commission per new referred client transaction

Attribution
Fiverr

30 days

Upwork

Verify current Impact attribution terms

Recurring duration
Fiverr

For the current Marketplace hybrid model, 10% revenue share can apply to later qualifying orders for 12 months after the referred first-time buyer conversion.

Upwork

Not publicly stated in the reviewed source

Approval
Fiverr

Affiliate registration and program compliance

Upwork

Affiliate registration through Impact

Paid search / PPC
Fiverr

Paid ads may drive visitors to your own content/landing page, but paid traffic should not direct-link to Fiverr and Fiverr trademark/brand keyword bidding is prohibited.

Upwork

Not publicly stated in the reviewed source

Geography
Fiverr

Global marketplace, but payment/provider and product availability can vary by country.

Upwork

Not publicly stated in the reviewed source

Think twice about Fiverr when

Different Fiverr products use different commission plans

Think twice about Upwork when

Commission applies to first-time client activity under current program rules

Full terms

Side-by-side research table.

“Not published” means the reviewed first-party source did not expose that field clearly enough to state it as fact.

FactorFiverrUpwork
Current statusActiveActive
CategoryFreelance & Business ServicesFreelance & Business Services
Commercial modelRecurringSale
CommissionMarketplace: 25% of the first-time buyer order amount (CPA capped at $500) plus 10% revenue share on later qualifying orders for 12 months; other Fiverr products can use separate structures.70% of the first contract spend, capped at $150 commission per new referred client transaction
Attribution30 daysVerify current Impact attribution terms
Recurring durationFor the current Marketplace hybrid model, 10% revenue share can apply to later qualifying orders for 12 months after the referred first-time buyer conversion.Not published in the reviewed source
Payout timingEligible commissions follow Fiverr’s validation and invoice/payment cycle; current affiliate help materials describe monthly processing after the applicable clearance period.Not published in the reviewed source
Minimum payout$100 before an affiliate payout can be requested under the current affiliate payment guidance.Not published in the reviewed source
Paid search / PPCPaid ads may drive visitors to your own content/landing page, but paid traffic should not direct-link to Fiverr and Fiverr trademark/brand keyword bidding is prohibited.Not published in the reviewed source
GeographyGlobal marketplace, but payment/provider and product availability can vary by country.Not published in the reviewed source
ApprovalAffiliate registration and program complianceAffiliate registration through Impact
Approval difficultyLow-to-moderate — applications are open but program compliance and traffic quality are reviewed.Not published in the reviewed source
Source reviewed2026-09-082026-09-07
Best fitFreelancing, startup, small-business, outsourcing, design and creator-workflow publishers.Freelancing, hiring, outsourcing, remote-business and agency content where readers are looking to hire independent talent.
Fiverr

Strengths and checks

Reasons to consider it

  • 25% of first Marketplace order is currently published
  • 10% revenue share on future Marketplace purchases for 12 months
  • 30-day tracking cookie is documented in current support material

Verify first

  • Different Fiverr products use different commission plans
  • Only eligible new-buyer attribution qualifies for the first-order model
  • Marketplace service quality varies by seller and project
Read the Fiverr profile
Upwork

Strengths and checks

Reasons to consider it

  • 70% first-contract-spend formula is published
  • Maximum $150 commission per transaction is stated
  • Impact provides payout and reporting infrastructure

Verify first

  • Commission applies to first-time client activity under current program rules
  • Cookie duration is not published on the public landing page
  • A marketplace recommendation should address hiring fit, not only payout
Read the Upwork profile
If neither fits

Open a nearby alternative.

These suggestions come from category, audience and existing comparison relationships—not an opaque ranking.

Same-category alternative

Bonsai

Freelancers, agencies and small-business publishers comparing client-management, project-management and billing software.

Open profile
Same-category alternative

Patriot Software

US small-business, payroll, accounting and freelancer publishers with audiences actively selecting bookkeeping or payroll software.

Open profile
Same-category alternative

Deel

Remote-work, global hiring, HR operations, international payroll and founder/business audiences with genuine B2B purchase intent.

Open profile
Same-category alternative

FreshBooks

Freelancer, small-business, invoicing and accounting-software content where readers are actively selecting a finance workflow tool.

Open profile