Home / Comparisons / Shutterstock vs Depositphotos
Affiliate program comparison

Shutterstock vs Depositphotos

Compare Shutterstock vs Depositphotos by commission, attribution, approval, audience fit, restrictions and current first-party source evidence.

Stock Assets & TemplatesShutterstock
Commission
20% on qualifying new-customer purchases, with opportunity for higher rates; up to $300 per…
Attribution
30 days
Model
Sale
VS
Stock Assets & TemplatesDepositphotos
Commission
40% cash reward on a referred customer’s first purchase and 15% on subsequent purchases…
Attribution
Verify current terms
Model
Recurring
Choose Shutterstock when

Design, stock-media, photography and creator publishers.

First-party source checked · September 8, 2026
Choose Depositphotos when

Stock-photo, design and creative-resource publishers.

First-party source checked · September 8, 2026
Verify before you choose

Open the current program pages side by side.

Use the comparison to narrow the choice, then confirm the current qualifying event, attribution and promotion rules on each program before publishing a recommendation.

Some outbound links may be affiliate links. If you sign up or purchase through one, this site may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Decision differences

Where the two offers actually diverge.

Only material fields that differ are shown here. Equal fields are left out so the page is easier to scan.

Commercial model
Shutterstock

sale

Depositphotos

multi-year-referral

Commission
Shutterstock

20% on qualifying new-customer purchases, with opportunity for higher rates; up to $300 per new customer referral

Depositphotos

40% cash reward on a referred customer’s first purchase and 15% on subsequent purchases for 3 years

Attribution
Shutterstock

30 days

Depositphotos

Verify current terms

Recurring duration
Shutterstock

Not publicly stated in the reviewed source

Depositphotos

15% on qualifying subsequent purchases for 3 years after the first purchase

Approval
Shutterstock

Affiliate application through Impact

Depositphotos

Referral-program participation under current Depositphotos rules

Geography
Shutterstock

Subject to Impact/Shutterstock market eligibility

Depositphotos

Not publicly stated in the reviewed source

Think twice about Shutterstock when

Focus is on new-customer qualifying purchases

Think twice about Depositphotos when

Confirm payout threshold and methods in current FAQ

Full terms

Side-by-side research table.

“Not published” means the reviewed first-party source did not expose that field clearly enough to state it as fact.

FactorShutterstockDepositphotos
Current statusActiveActive
CategoryStock Assets & TemplatesStock Assets & Templates
Commercial modelSaleRecurring
Commission20% on qualifying new-customer purchases, with opportunity for higher rates; up to $300 per new customer referral40% cash reward on a referred customer’s first purchase and 15% on subsequent purchases for 3 years
Attribution30 daysVerify current terms
Recurring durationNot published in the reviewed source15% on qualifying subsequent purchases for 3 years after the first purchase
Payout timingMonthly; current page describes a 30-day action lock and later payout scheduleNot published in the reviewed source
Minimum payout$10Not published in the reviewed source
GeographySubject to Impact/Shutterstock market eligibilityNot published in the reviewed source
ApprovalAffiliate application through ImpactReferral-program participation under current Depositphotos rules
Approval difficultyModerate — Impact applicationLow-to-moderate — referral-program rules apply
Source reviewed2026-09-082026-09-08
Best fitDesign, stock-media, photography and creator publishers.Stock-photo, design and creative-resource publishers.
Shutterstock

Strengths and checks

Reasons to consider it

  • 20% base new-customer rate
  • Up to $300 per new customer
  • 30-day cookie and $10 minimum payout

Verify first

  • Focus is on new-customer qualifying purchases
  • 30-day action-lock/payout timing applies
  • Higher rates are not automatic
Read the Shutterstock profile
Depositphotos

Strengths and checks

Reasons to consider it

  • 40% first-purchase reward
  • 15% subsequent-purchase reward
  • Three-year reward duration

Verify first

  • Confirm payout threshold and methods in current FAQ
  • Referral rules differ from marketplace contributor economics
  • Use current regional terms
Read the Depositphotos profile
If neither fits

Open a nearby alternative.

These suggestions come from category, audience and existing comparison relationships—not an opaque ranking.

Same-category alternative

Motion Array

Video editors, filmmakers, YouTubers, agencies and creators whose audience regularly purchases production assets.

Open profile
Same-category alternative

Artlist

Video creators, editors, filmmakers and creator-tool publishers.

Open profile
Same-category alternative

123RF

Design, photography, stock-media, marketing and creator audiences researching visual assets.

Open profile